The Powley Elder Law Award

This award is presented to a NAELA member who has demonstrated a commitment to promote, in the minds of the general public, a greater understanding of the rights and needs of older Americans and people with special needs and of how elder law attorneys advocate for those rights. The award is established in the memory of Wes and Helen Powley, grandparents of NAELA member Tim Takacs. Both Wes and Helen were active in civic affairs for all of their lives, and Wes practiced dentistry well into his 80s. The award is funded by a grant from the Takacs Family Foundation.

Submit a nomination for the next award recipient by May 28, 2021.  Download the form below.
Download the nomination form
(Microsoft Word Document)

Powley Award Recipients

2019 Leonard Berg
2018 Debra Rahmin Silberstein
2017 Patricia Sitchler, CELA
2016 Keith Huffman, Esq.
2015 H. Amos Goodall, CELA
2014 Marielle Hazen, CELA
2013 Reginald Turnbull, CELA
2012 Janet L. Lowder, CELA
2011 Patricia Harrison, Esq.
2010 Eric Carlson, Esq.
2009 Alfred "Chip" Chiplin, Esq.
2008 Martha Brown, CELA, CAP
2007 Stephen W. Dale, Esq.
2006 Lynn Campisi, CELA
2005 Patricia K. Dudek, Esq., CAP
2004 Doris Hawks, Esq. CAP
2003 Mary Alice Jackson, Esq.
2002 John J.Ford, Esq.
2001 Fay Blix, CELA, CAP
2000 Edward W. Long, Esq.